Grafik Gesenkschmiede Hendrichs

Loosen Maschinn

View into the exhibition

In the vernacular, the steam-powered grinding workshops which came in to being in the 1850s were referred to as “Maschinn”. Here a steam engine was used as the driving force. It meant that the grinders were no longer dependent on a site with water power.

The farmer Ernst Loos built one of the largest steam-powered grinding workshops on the Widderter Höhenrücken (Widderter Ridge) in 1888. The three-storey brick building with adjacent engine house provided a workplace for 183 grinders. The grinders called it “Loosen Maschinn” (Loos‘ machine). This steam-powered grinding workshop operated until 1990.

Following extensive refurbishment work, the building now accommodates – alongside living and business facilities – an exhibition room run by the Förderverein Industriemuseum Solingen e.V. (Association of Friends) with the help of the LVR-Industriemuseum.


Gallery with various photos

The exhibition retraces the history of the Loosen Maschinn and of the former steam-powered grinding workshops in Solingen that numbered more than 100. On show are: an original grinder’s workplace, films, countless photographs, workpieces and tools and also a model of the building with documentation on all outworker workshops which still existed in 1988. Regular photograph exhibitions are presented in the staircase gallery in co-operation with the Solingen Fotoforum.

Address: Loosen Maschinn, Börsenstr. 87, 42657 Solingen

Opening hours: during the photograph exhibitions only. Opening dates and guided tours upon request.

Entrance: 1 €

To book: LVR-Industriemuseum Gesenkschmiede Hendrichs, Tel.: 0212 232410

Logo LVR - Qualität für Menschen
Grafik Gesenkschmiede Hendrichs

Dampfschleiferei Loosen Maschinn

Blick in die Ausstellung

"Maschinn" nannte der Volksmund Dampfschleifereien, die eine Dampfmaschine als Antriebskraft einsetzten und seit den 1850er Jahren entstanden. Sie machten die Schleifer unabhängig vom Standort Wasser.

Auf dem Widderter Höhenrücken errichtete der Landwirt Ernst Loos 1888 eine der größten Solinger Dampfschleifereien. Der dreigeschossige Backsteinbau mit angrenzendem Maschinenhaus bot schließlich 183 Schleifern eine Arbeitstätte. Die Schleifer nannten sie "Loosen Maschinn" (dem Loos seine Maschine). Diese Dampfschleiferei war bis 1990 in Betrieb.

Nach umfassenden Sanierungsarbeiten beherbergt das Gebäude heute neben Wohn- und Gewerberäumen einen Ausstellungsraum, den der Förderverein Industriemuseum Solingen e.V. mit Hilfe des LVR-Industriemuseums betreibt.


Galerie mit verschiedenen Fotos

Die Ausstellung zeichnet die Geschichte der Loosen Maschinn und die der früher über 100 Solinger Dampfschleifereien nach. Zu sehen sind: Ein originaler Schleifarbeitsplatz, Filme, zahlreiche Fotos, Werkstücke und Werkzeuge und auch das Gebäudemodell mit den Dokumentationen aller 1988 noch vorhandenen Heimarbeiterwerkstätten. In der Treppenhaus-Galerie werden in Zusammenarbeit mit dem Solinger Fotoforum regelmäßig Fotoausstellungen gezeigt.

Anschrift: Börsenstr. 87, 42657 Solingen

Öffnungszeiten: während der Fotoausstellungen Termine / Führungen auf Anfrage

Eintritt: 1 €

Anmeldung/Kontakt: LVR-Industriemuseum Gesenkschmiede Hendrichs, Tel.: 0212 23241-0