Grafik Textilfabrik Cromford

Exhibitions

Temporary and Permanent Exhibitions

Temporary Exhibition

Raids For Fashion

Luxury, Desire and Suffering. 1800 – present day

Sleek furs, exotic feathers or iridescent pearls – from time immemorial people have been fascinated by the beauty of the animal world. Despite protests, despite animal and species protection: Materials obtained from animals are still an important feature in current fashion trends. The exhibition presents original items of clothing and accessories made of materials obtained from animals, for example furs, feathers, pearls, mother of pearl or ray skin and in addition pictures and film excerpts from the appropriate period.

11.07.2021 - 26.06.2022, Textilfabrik Cromford (Textile Mill), Ratingen

More


Permanent exhibitions

View of historical spinner head

CROMFORD TEXTILE MILL

The first factory on the continent – is located in Ratingen. Today the first mechanical cotton spinning mill to be set up outside England is the only museum worldwide which demonstrates the processing of raw cotton to finished yarn on machines reconstructed according to the originals dating from the 18th century.

More

Looking through rooms in the manor house, you can see a yellow sofa and a piano

CROMFORD MANSION

The exhibition depicts the life and work of the Brügelmann family from 1783 to 1864. The late baroque building was the administrative heart of one of the most important companies towards the end of the 18th century and at the same time the middle-class residence of one of the leading industrialist families.

More

Logo LVR - Qualität für Menschen
Grafik Textilfabrik Cromford

Ausstellungen

Sonder- und Dauerausstellungen

Sonderausstellung

MODISCHE RAUBZÜGE

LUXUS, LUST UND LEID. 1800 - HEUTE

Geschmeidige Felle, exotische Federn oder schillernde Perlen – seit jeher waren die Menschen fasziniert von der Schönheit der Tierwelt. Trotz aller Proteste, trotz Tier- und Artenschutz: Tierische Materialien prägen noch immer aktuelle modische Trends. Die Ausstellung zeigt Originalkleidungsstücke und Accessoires aus tierischen Materialien, zum Beispiel Pelze, Federn, Perlen, Perlmutt oder Rochenhaut, darüber hinaus Bilder und Filmausschnitte aus der Zeit.

11.07.2021 - 26.06.2022, Textilfabrik Cromford, Ratingen

mehr


Dauerausstellungen

Blick auf historischen Spinnkopf

TEXTILFABRIK CROMFORD

Die erste Fabrik auf dem Kontinent - sie steht in Ratingen. Heute ist die erste mechanische Baumwollspinnerei außerhalb Englands das weltweit einzige Museum, das die Verarbeitung vom Rohstoff Baumwolle zum fertigen Garn an originalgetreu nachgebauten Maschinen aus dem 18. Jahrhundert zeigt.

mehr

Blick durch Räume im Herrenhaus, zu sehen ist ein gelbes Sofa und ein Klavier

HERRENHAUS CROMFORD

Die Ausstellung zeigt Arbeit und Leben der Familie Brügelmann von 1783 bis 1864. Das spätbarocke Gebäude war die Schaltzentrale eines der bedeutendsten Unternehmen des ausgehenden 18. Jahrhunderts und gleichzeitig bürgerliches Wohnhaus einer der führenden Fabrikantenfamilien.

mehr