Grafik Industrieanlage

Vision 2020

For the LVR-Industriemuseum

Detail view of two ropes on one wheel

A good 25 years after it was first established, the LVR-Industriemuseum embarked on a modernisation programme in the year 2012. The benchmark decision "Vision 2020" formulates the guidelines for a comprehensive qualification review and modernisation of the seven locations in the Rhineland, in that locations are being rendered more flexible for larger temporary exhibitions, permanent exhibitions are being updated and new topics being developed. The future vision is based on synergies in the co-operation between the seven locations and a step for step procedure over almost a decade.

In the following you can learn more about “Vision 2020" and the measures taken to date.

Review and reason

Milestones and Measures


Review and Reason

The LVR-Industriemuseum, once the pioneer in the field of industrial heritage, is today only one amongst many who till the field of industrial heritage today. In 1984 having started as the Rheinisches Industriemuseum, it established a new type of museum, ground-breaking beyond the boundaries of the Rhineland. The museum was not just at the forefront of a continuing still ongoing process of democratisation and opening of museums dealing with work and everyday life but also of a movement for “Industrial Heritage” which in the meantime has become a formative unique feature.

Today the museum owns one of the leading collections in Germany relating to daily life and industrial history comprising more than 125,000 items. It has grown continually right up to the present with the further areas in the mansion in Ratingen and the industrial archaeological park in Oberhausen being added in 2010. In six towns in the Rhineland it operates seven sites with 50,000 sq. m. floor space and 80,000 sq. m. open space and it accommodates some 180,000 visitors annually. Although it is structured in small sections it still ranks amongst the large museums in Germany. Within its network above all the medium-sized sites in the smaller places have succeeded in achieving a good position as the “best local institution” - for example in Bergisch Gladbach as “the” family museum or in Ratingen with its popular exhibitions on the history of clothes. The high number of visitors who do not come from the town (or rural district) in which the site is located - that is more than two thirds – shows that the museums benefit from the regional network. Overall the concept of the “living museum” at de-centrally located original sites with production demonstrations and intensive personal communication has proved to be successful.

Nevertheless the LVR-Industriemuseum is facing significant challenges. The acceleration of social development has reached the industrial museums: original factory facilities are no longer enough: for the public this is a foreign world which needs explaining as it is not recognisable from personal observation. Many of the initial items of equipment are more than 15 years old and already appear to be outdated and this will be true even more so in 2020: starting with the service sectors which no longer correspond to current standards, to the exhibition technology and to the contents. Nowadays structural change has to be discussed differently to 20 years ago and young persons can no longer be attracted with screen media dating from the 1990s. At some sites larger scale investment in fire protection and safety are now due: therefore it makes sense to bring together the various restoration requirements and tackle them together.

In addition the museum is facing strong new competition. The Rhineland has developed a uniquely dense industrial heritage landscape with the IBA Emscher Park, the “Regionals” and the cultural capital. This competition not only has the attraction of being new, it is difficult for the industrial museum with its small divided structure to hold its ground, for example alongside the Ruhr Museum at the World Cultural Heritage site Zollverein. This applies in particular to the Ruhr area: Here the Oberhausen site Altenberg – once singular with a permanent exhibition on heavy industry, today one of many which are able to present this topic more effectively and in some cases more authentically – must reposition itself.

Having completed the projects for the Cultural Capital the new museum management has therefore initiated a task review and target discussion–in which all internal departments are involved. In July 2011 a conference on the future orientation took place attended by all specialised employees, in November a managerial staff conference. The first step was an analysis of the weaknesses, strengths and potential of all task fields and organisational units including detailed cost analyses of the sites. The current “Vision 2020” was then developed from this analysis. It formulates a new fundamental concept for the museum, development targets for each site up to the year 2020 and sets out the measures required for this.

Vision 2020 provides for investment in the substance of the museums over and above the required refurbishment and updating. The aim is to make the running of the museum more efficient and flexible, and also to provide the museum with perspectives for development and in doing so to ensure its competitiveness as flagship of LVR-Kultur (LVR Culture) in the long term. It does this in the conviction that the specific cultural mission of the museums is more topical than ever. Vision 2020 also takes the LVR network of industrial cultural heritage into account. It positions the museum so that it can become the nucleus of a more comprehensive consolidation of this industrial cultural heritage network. In doing so it ensures that the LVR - as the most important financier of industrial heritage in the Rhineland still – retains its leading and formative role in an important field of cultural policy in NRW.

Fundamental concept of the LVR-Industriemuseum


Milestones and Measures

Fundamental resolution about "Vision 2020"

May 2012: Fundamental resolution of the Culture Committee at Landschaftsverband Rheinland about the development programme for the LVR-Industriemuseum based on a site and task analysis.

View of the exhibition "Fashion-lights!" with lots of colorful clothes on figurines

Refurbishment in Engelskirchen

April 2013:Following a four-month refurbishment break the LVR-Industriemuseum Engelskirchen opened again with the exhibition “Fashion-lights!” Parts of the previous permanent exhibition were dismantled in order to create more space for larger temporary exhibitions. The monument trail at the hydroelectric power plant of the cotton spinning mill Ermen& Engels will be made accessible to the public again as part of the re-organisation of the exhibition area. From April 2015 it will also be possible to experience virtually the monument trail around the Ermen & Engels power plant under the link ermenundengels.de. Treasure chests in the museum grounds lead to more in-depth information about the varied history of the factory, about Friedrich Engels or about life and work along the river Agger which anyone can access per smartphone on the spot or by computer at home.

Enlarged exhibition area in Euskirchen

November 2013: The first exhibition to be presented in the extended area for temporary exhibitions at the LVR-Industriemuseum Tuchfabrik Müller area is “Glanz und Grauen - Mode im 'Dritten Reich'” (Glamour and Horror – Fashion in the Third Reich). Parts of the previous permanent exhibition were dismantled in order to create more space for larger temporary exhibitions.

Many children play in a playground

Topic Playground "Kleine Dombach" in Bergisch Gladbach

June 2014: The Topic Playground "Kleine Dombach" at the LVR-Industriemuseum Papiermühle Alte Dombach (Paper Mill) is open. The playground and the equipment reflect the typical features of the paper mills in the area. In September 2015 the second construction phase will be completed with further innovative playground equipment being added. The "Verein der Freunde und Förderer des LVR- Industriemuseums der Schauplatz Bergisch Gladbach – Papiermühle Alte Dombach e.V. (Association of Friends) – and the Landschaftsverband Rheinland will jointly cover the costs for the playground.

Media stations at Gesenkschmiede Hendrichs (Drop Forge)

January 2015: The permanent exhibition in the Hendrichs’ drop forge has been provided with new media stations. These stations replace not only some exhibition information boards but permit the presentation of animated graphics, short films and audio documents.

Refurbishment plans at the Zinkfabrik Altenberg (Zinc Factory)

April 2015: Updating of the fundamental resolution and approval of the refurbishment planning at the LVR-Industriemuseum Zinkfabrik Altenberg by the Cultural Committee at Landschaftsverband Rheinland.

Dr. Christine Vogt, Dr. Burkhard Zeppenfeld, Anja Hoffmann, Apostolos Tsalastras, Jutta Kruft-Lohrengel, Milena Karabaic, Prof. Dr. Manfred Rasch, Dr. Walter Hauser (from left to right)

Workshop "The LVR-Industriemuseum re-invents itself"

October 2015: Within the scope of an open workshop, some 50 experts from business, politics, culture and scientific sectors as well as interested members of the public exchanged views about a possible re-orientation of the LVR-Industriemuseum Zinkfabrik Altenberg (Zinc Factory). Driving force were Dr. Christine Vogt, Director of the Ludwig Galerie Schloss Oberhausen, Prof. Dr. Manfred Rasch, Head of the ThyssenKrupp Archive, Jutta Kruft-Lohrengel, President of the IHK in Essen (Chamber of Commerce and Industry), Apostolos Tsalastras, Town Councillor and Head of Culture for the town of Oberhausen and Anja Hoffmann, Chairperson of the Bundesverband Museumspädagogik e.V.

Glance into the special exhibition "The Power of Fashion" with many pieces of clothing on figurines

Enlarged temporary exhibition area in Ratingen

October 2015: In spring 2015 parts of the permanent exhibition in the “High Factory” were dismantled, partitioned areas were removed and the 2nd floor was renovated, significantly enlarging the area available for temporary exhibitions at LVR-Industriemuseum Textilfabrik Cromford (Textile Mill). The first temporary exhibition to benefit from this was “Die Macht der Mode” (The Power of Fashion) which can now be presented on three floors. In future it is planned to use the 2nd floor as a multi-function room.

Implementation resolution on the refurbishment of the Zinkfabrik Altenberg (Zinc Factory)

November / December 2016: One after the other the Culture Committee, the Construction and Sourcing Board, the Economic and Finance Committee and the Committee for Rural Affairs at Landschaftsverband Rheinland approved the planned refurbishment measures at the LVR-Industriemuseum Zinkfabrik Altenberg (Zinc Factory). A pre-condition is that funding procurement from subvention funds is successful in the subsequent period. With this it is possible to embark upon the further measures to re-orientate the museum such as the refurbishment of the plate roller shop, the re-organisation of the open areas or the construction of a museum forge and demonstration foundry.

Film showing on a screen

Media stations at Tuchfabrik Müller (Cloth Factory)

January 2017: The permanent exhibition at Tuchfabrik Müller (Cloth Factory) was made more lively using modern media. These include acoustic surprises such as the background noise of steam engine and looms as well as historical film excerpts, extracts from interviews with former employees and background information about everyday life in the former cloth factory.

Man in the excavator clears sand from a large hall

Closure of the permanent exhibition “Heavy Industry”

April 2018: Following the ‘Finissage’ for the permanent exhibition “Heavy Industry” at the Zinkfabrik Altenberg (Zinc Factory) well over 1,000 exhibits were put into the storage facility or returned to the lenders and many tons moved in the process.

Closure of the plate roller shop at Zinkfabrik Altenberg (Zinc Factory)

December 2018: Following the end of the large temporary exhibition “Energiewenden – Wendezeiten” (Energy Revolution – Times of Change) the roller hall was completely closed at the end of the year.

A large locomotive hangs in the air on cranes in front of a building

Departure of locomotive from the Zinkfabrik Altenberg (Zinc Factory)

January 2019: The heart of the previous permanent exhibition "Heavy Industry" – the 77 year-old freight train steam tender locomotive no. 2429 from the series 50 built by Krupp AG – was spectacularly transported to an engine shed to be stored. But don’t worry: It will come back and become part of the new permanent exhibition!

Construction fences, behind them an excavator in front of a factory building

Start of the Building Site

February 2020: The majority of the preparatory work and the preliminary inspections having been completed, the building work started at the beginning of February 2020. The building authorities in Oberhausen were informed about the commencement of the building work and a hoarding was erected. The building site was rendered accessible with a construction road. A small part of the historic factory wall had to be removed for this. The first task was to demolish the installations in the plate roller shop which were not part of the historic inventory to make way for the new equipment.

Some men and women on a stage in front of an audience

Information event about the refurbishment at the Zinkfabrik Altenberg (Zinc Factory)

February 2020: More than 90 persons came to learn more about the re-orientation of the museum and to contribute their own ideas. The event included short lectures, a podium discussion and three parallel workshops. The invitations had been sent by the LVR-Industriemuseum and the town of Oberhausen.


The refurbishment measures at the Zinkfabrik Altenberg (Zinc Factory) are being sponsored by:

Logo "European Union - Investment in our future - European fund for regional development" and logo "Ministry for Homeland, Local Affairs, Building and Equality of the State of North Rhine-Westphalia"
Logo "European Union - Investment in our future - European fund for regional development" and logo "Ministry for Homeland, Local Affairs, Building and Equality of the State of North Rhine-Westphalia"

Logo LVR - Qualität für Menschen
Grafik Industrieanlage

Vision 2020

für das LVR-Industriemuseum

Detailansicht von zwei Seilen an einem Rad

Gut 25 Jahre nach seiner Gründung hat sich das LVR-Industriemuseum im Jahr 2012 auf den Weg der Erneuerung gemacht. Der Eckpunktebeschluss "Vision 2020" formuliert Leitlinien einer umfassenden Qualifizierung und Modernisierung der sieben Schauplätze im Rheinland - etwa, indem Standorte für größere Sonderausstellungen flexibler gemacht, Dauerausstellungen aktualisiert und neue Themen erschlossen werden. Die Zukunftsvision setzt auf Synergien in der Zusammenarbeit der sieben Standorte und ein schrittweises Vorgehen über ein knappes Jahrzehnt.

Erfahren Sie im Folgenden mehr über die "Vision 2020" und die bisherigen Maßnahmen.

Rückblick und Anlass

Meilensteine und Maßnahmen


Rückblick und Anlass

Das LVR-Industriemuseum, der einstige Pionier der Industriekultur, ist heute nur mehr einer unter vielen, die das Feld der Industriekultur bestellen. 1984 als Rheinisches Industriemuseum gestartet, begründete es seinerzeit – wegweisend über das Rheinland hinaus – einen neuen Museumstyp. Das Museum stand nicht nur am Anfang einer bis heute andauernden Demokratisierung und Öffnung der Museen in die Arbeits-und Alltagswelt, sondern auch einer Bewegung für die „Industriekultur“, die für Nordrhein-Westfalen mittlerweile zum prägenden Alleinstellungsmerkmal wurde.

Das Museum besitzt heute eine der führenden alltags- und industriegeschichtlichen Sammlungen Deutschlands mit über 125.000 Objekten. Es ist bis zuletzt stetig gewachsen, noch 2010 mit dem erweiterten Herrenhaus in Ratingen und dem industriearchäologischen Park in Oberhausen. Es betreibt in sechs Städten des Rheinlands sieben Schauplätze mit über 50.000 qm Nutzfläche und 80.000 qm Freifläche und erreicht jährlich etwa 180.000 Besucherinnen und Besucher. Damit gehört es, wenngleich kleinteilig strukturiert, zu den großen Museen in Deutschland. In seinem Verbund ist es vor allem den mittelgroßen Standorten in eher kleineren Kommunen gelungen, sich eine gute Position als „erstes Haus am Platz“ zu erarbeiten – etwa in Bergisch Gladbach als „das“ Familienmuseum oder in Ratingen mit seinen beliebten Ausstellungen zur Kleidungsgeschichte. Der hohe Anteil Besucher, die nicht aus der Standortkommune (bzw. dem Landkreis) kommen – es sind über zwei Drittel –, zeigt, dass die Museen vom regionalen Verbund profitieren. Insgesamt hat sich das Konzept des „lebendigen Museums“ an dezentral verteilten Originalschauplätzen, mit Vorführproduktionen und einer intensiven personalen Vermittlungsarbeit bewährt.

Gleichwohl steht das LVR-Industriemuseum vor großen Herausforderungen. Die Beschleunigung der gesellschaftlichen Entwicklung hat die Industriemuseen erreicht: mit originalen Fabrikeinrichtungen allein ist es nicht mehr getan, für das Publikum ist dies eine fremde, zu erklärende Welt, die es aus eigener Anschauung nicht mehr kennt. Viele Ersteinrichtungen sind mehr als 15 Jahre alt und wirken bereits heute – umso mehr wird das im Jahre 2020 sein – veraltet: angefangen von Servicebereichen, die nicht mehr heutigen Standards entsprechen, über die Ausstellungstechnik bis hin zu den Inhalten. Über industriellen Strukturwandel muss man heute anders sprechen als vor 20 Jahren, und mit den Bildschirmmedien der 1990er-Jahre kann man junge Menschen nicht mehr locken. An einigen Orten stehen in jedem Fall größere Investitionen in Brandschutz und Sicherheit an: Daher macht es Sinn, die verschiedenen Erneuerungsbedarfe jetzt zusammenzuführen und in Angriff zu nehmen.

Zum anderen ist dem Museum starke, neue Konkurrenz erwachsen. Durch die IBA Emscher Park, die „Regionalen“ und die Kulturhauptstadt hat sich im Rheinland eine einmalig dichte industriekulturelle Landschaft entwickelt. Diese Konkurrenz hat nicht nur den Reiz des Neueren, neben ihr hat es das Industriemuseum mit seiner kleinteiligen Verbundstruktur schwer sich zu behaupten – etwa neben einem Ruhr Museum auf dem Weltkulturerbe Zollverein. Das gilt vor allem für das Ruhrgebiet: Hier wird sich der Oberhausener Standort Altenberg – einst singulär mit seiner Dauerausstellung zur Schwerindustrie, heute einer unter vielen, die dieses Thema aktueller und teils authentischer darstellen können – neu positionieren müssen.

Daher hat die neue Museumsleitung – nach dem Abschluss der Projekte für die Kulturhauptstadt – eine breit im Hause verankerte Aufgabenkritik und Zieldiskussion initiiert, in die alle Abteilungen einbezogen wurden. Im Juli 2011 fand eine Zukunftsklausur mit allen wissenschaftlichen Mitarbeiterinnen und Mitarbeitern statt, im November eine Leitungsklausur mit Führungskräften. Der erste Schritt war eine Analyse der Schwächen, Stärken und Potentiale aller Arbeitsfelder und Organisationseinheiten, auch mit detaillierten Kostenanalysen der Standorte. Aus ihr heraus entwickelte sich die nunmehr vorliegende „Vision 2020“. Sie formuliert ein neues Leitbild für das Museum, Entwicklungsziele für jeden Standort bis zum Jahr 2020 und sie skizziert die dafür erforderlichen Maßnahmen.

Die Vision 2020 sieht über notwendige Sanierungen und Aktualisierungen hinaus Investitionen in die Substanz des Museums vor. Sie sollen den Betrieb des Museums effizienter und flexibler machen, dem Museum aber auch Entfaltungsperspektiven bieten und damit seine Konkurrenzfähigkeit als Flaggschiff der LVR-Kultur langfristig sichern. Sie tut dies in der Überzeugung, dass die spezifische kulturelle Mission des Museums aktueller ist denn je. Die Vision 2020 nimmt dabei das LVR-Netzwerk industriekulturelles Erbe mit in den Blick. Sie stellt das Museum so auf, dass es zum Nukleus einer umfassenderen Konsolidierung dieses industriekulturellen Netzwerkes werden kann. Damit sichert es dem LVR als noch immer wichtigstem Finanzier der Industriekultur im Rheinland seine führende und gestaltende Rolle auf einem wichtigen Feld der Kulturpolitik in NRW.

Leitbild des LVR-Industriemuseums


Meilensteine und Maßnahmen

Grundsatzbeschluss über die "Vision 2020"

Mai 2012: Grundsatzbeschluss des Kulturausschusses des Landschaftsverbandes Rheinland über ein Entwicklungsprogramm für das LVR-Industriemuseum auf Grundlage einer Standort- und Aufgabenanalyse

Download der Kulturausschuss-Vorlage (PDF, 2,55 MB)

Blick in die Ausstellung "Fashion-lights!" mit vielen bunten Kleidern an Figurinen

Umbau in Engelskirchen

April 2013: Mit der Ausstellung „Fashion-lights!" eröffnet das LVR-Industriemuseum Engelskirchen nach vier Monaten Umbaupause wieder. Teile der bisherigen Dauerausstellung wurden zurückgebaut, um mehr Platz für größere Sonderausstellungen zu schaffen. Im Zuge der Neugestaltung der Ausstellungsfläche wird auch der Denkmalpfad im Wasserkraftwerk der Baumwollspinnerei Ermen & Engels für die Öffentlichkeit wieder zugänglich gemacht. Ab April 2015 kann man außerdem auf ermenundengels.de den Denkmalpfad rund um das Kraftwerk Ermen & Engels virtuell erleben. Schatzkisten auf dem Museumsgelände führen zu vertiefenden Informationen über die wechselhafte Geschichte der Fabrik, über Friedrich Engels oder das Leben und Arbeiten entlang der Agger, die jeder per Smartphone an Ort und Stelle oder aber zu Hause am Computer abrufen kann.

Presseinformation zur Ausstellungseröffnung "Fashion-lights!"

Presseinformation zum digitalen Denkmalpfad

Vergrößerte Sonderausstellungsfläche in Euskirchen

November 2013: Mit „Glanz und Grauen - Mode im 'Dritten Reich'" wird im LVR-Industriemuseum Tuchfabrik Müller die erste Ausstellung auf vergrößerter Sonderausstellungsfläche präsentiert. Teile der bisherigen Dauerausstellung wurden zurückgebaut, um mehr Platz für größere Sonderausstellungen zu schaffen.

Viele Kinder spielen auf einem Spielplatz

Themenspielplatz "Kleine Dombach" in Bergisch Gladbach

Juni 2014: Der Themenspielplatz "Kleine Dombach" am LVR-Industriemuseum Papiermühle Alte Dombach wird eröffnet. Mit den Spielgeräten greift er die typischen Merkmale der hiesigen Papiermühlen auf. Im September 2015 wird auch der zweite Bauabschnitt fertiggestellt, der den Spielplatz um weitere innovative Spielgeräte ergänzt. Die Kosten für den Spielplatz tragen der "Verein der Freunde und Förderer des LVR-Industriemuseums Schauplatz Bergisch Gladbach – Papiermühle Alte Dombach e.V. – " und der Landschaftsverband Rheinland gemeinsam.

Medienstationen in der Gesenkschmiede Hendrichs

Januar 2015: Die Dauerausstellung in der Gesenkschmiede Hendrichs wurde mit neuen Medienstationen ausgestattet. Die Stationen ersetzen nicht nur einige Ausstellungstafeln, sondern ermöglichen auch die Präsentation von animierten Grafiken, kurzen Filmen und Audiodokumenten.

Umbauplanungen in der Zinkfabrik Altenberg

April 2015: Fortschreibung des Grundsatzbeschlusses und Freigabe der Umbauplanungen im LVR-Industriemuseum Zinkfabrik Altenberg durch den Kulturausschuss des Landschaftsverbandes Rheinland.

Download der Kulturausschuss-Vorlage mit Plänen (PDF, 4,63 MB)

Dr. Christine Vogt, Dr. Burkhard Zeppenfeld, Anja Hoffmann, Apostolos Tsalastras, Jutta Kruft-Lohrengel, Milena Karabaic, Prof. Dr. Manfred Rasch, Dr. Walter Hauser (von links nach rechts)

Workshop "Das LVR-Industriemuseum erfindet sich neu"

Oktober 2015: Im Rahmen eines offenen Workshops tauschen sich rund 50 Fachleute aus Wirtschaft, Politik, Kultur und Wissenschaft und interessierte Bürgerinnen und Bürger über eine mögliche Neuorientierung des LVR-Industriemuseums Zinkfabrik Altenberg aus. Impulsgeber sind Dr. Christine Vogt, Leiterin der Ludwig Galerie Schloss Oberhausen, Prof. Dr. Manfred Rasch, Leiter des ThyssenKrupp-Archivs, Jutta Kruft-Lohrengel, Präsidentin der IHK zu Essen, Apostolos Tsalastras, 1. Beigeordneter und Kulturdezernent der Stadt Oberhausen und Anja Hoffmann, Vorsitzende des Bundesverbandes Museumspädagogik e.V.

Presseinformation zum Workshop

Download der Workshop-Dokumentation (PDF, 4,65 MB)

Blick in die Sonbderausstellung "Die Macht der Mode" mit vielen Kleidungsstücken an Figurinen

Vergrößerte Sonderausstellungsfläche in Ratingen

Oktober 2015: Nachdem im Frühjahr 2015 ein Teil der Dauerausstellung in der Hohen Fabrik abgebaut, kleinere Kammern zurückgebaut und das 2. Obergeschoss renoviert worden sind, konnte die Fläche für Sonderausstellungen im LVR-Industriemuseum Textilfabrik Cromford deutlich vergrößert werden. Als erste profitierte die Sonderausstellung „Die Macht der Mode“ davon und kann jetzt über drei Etagen gezeigt werden. In Zukunft soll das 2. Obergeschoss als multifunktionaler Raum genutzt werden.

Durchführungsbeschluss des Umbaus der Zinkfabrik Altenberg

November / Dezember 2016: Nacheinander stimmen der Kulturausschuss, der Bau- und Vergabeausschuss, der Finanz- und Wirtschaftsausschuss sowie der Landschaftsausschuss des Landschaftsverbandes Rheinland den geplanten Umbaumaßnahmen am LVR-Industriemuseum Zinkfabrik Altenberg zu. Voraussetzung ist die Einwerbung von Fördermitteln, die in der Folgezeit gelingt. Damit können die weiteren Maßnahmen zur Neuausrichtung des Museums, wie der Umbau der Walzhalle, die Neugestaltung der Freiflächen oder die Errichtung einer Museumsschmiede und Schaugießerei, angegangen werden.

Filmvorführung auf einer Leinwand

Medienstationen in der Tuchfabrik Müller

Januar 2017: Die Dauerausstellung in der Tuchfabrik Müller wurde mit modernen Medien noch lebendiger gestaltet. Dazu gehören akustische Überraschungen wie die Geräuschkulisse aus Dampfmaschine und Webstühlen ebenso wie historische Filmaufnahmen, Auszüge aus Interviews mit den damaligen Beschäftigten und Hintergrundinformationen zum Alltag in der ehemali-gen Tuchfabrik.

Mann im Bagger räumt Sand aus einer großen Halle aus

Schließung der Dauerausstellung „Schwer.Industrie“

April 2018: Nach ‚Finissage‘ für die Dauerausstellung „Schwerindustrie“ in der Zinkfabrik Altenberg wurden die weit über 1.000 Ausstellungsexponate ins Depot bzw. an die Leihgeber zurückgeführt und viele Tonnen bewegt.

Schließung der Walzhalle der Zinkfabrik Altenberg

Dezember 2018: Mit Schließung der großen Sonderausstellung „Energiewenden – Wendezeiten“ wurde die Walzhalle am Jahresende komplett geschlossen.

Eine große Lokomotive hängt vor einem Gebäude an Kränen in der Luft

Abtransport der Lok aus der Zinkfabrik Altenberg

Januar 2019: Das Herzstück der ehemaligen Dauerausstellung "Schwerindustrie" – die 77 Jahre alte Güterzug-Schlepptender-Dampflokomotive Nr. 2429 der Baureihe 50 der Krupp AG – wurde auf spektakuläre Weise zur Einlagerung in einen Lokschuppen gebracht. Aber keine Angst: Sie wird zurückkommen und Teil der neuen Dauerausstellung werden!

Bauzäune, dahinter ein Bagger vor einem Fabrikgebäude

Start der Baustelle

Februar 2020: Nachdem der größte Teil der Vorarbeiten und Voruntersuchungen abgeschlossen war, startete mit Beginn des Monats Februar 2020 die Baustelle. Der Beginn der Arbeiten wurde der Oberhausener Baubehörde angezeigt und ein Bauzaun errichtet. Mit einer Baustraße wurde die Baustelle erschlossen. Hierzu musste ein kleiner Teil der historischen Fabrikmauer abgetragen werden. Als erste Arbeit stand nun der Abriss von Einbauten in der Walzhalle an, die für die neuen Anlagen weichen müssen und auch kein Teil des historischen Bestands sind.

Einige Herren und Damen auf einer Bühne vor Publikum

Infoveranstaltung zum Umbau der Zinkfabrik Altenberg

Februar 2020: Mehr als 90 Teilnehmerinnen und Teilnehmer kamen, um mehr über die Neuausrichtung des Museums zu erfahren und sich mit ihren Anregungen einzubringen. Die Veranstaltung umfasste Kurzvorträge, eine Podiumsdiskussion und drei parallele Workshops. Eingeladen hatten das LVR-Industriemuseum und die Stadt Oberhausen.


Die Umbaumaßnahmen in der Zinkfabrik Altenberg werden gefördert von:

Logo "Europäische Union - Investition in unsere Zukunft - Europäischer Fonds für regionale Entwicklung" und Logo "Ministerium für Heimat, Kommunales, Bau und Gleichstellung des Landes Nordrhein-Westfalen"
Logo "Bundesministerium für Inneres, für Bau und Heimat" und Logo "Städtebauförderung von Bund, Ländern und Gemeinden"