Raids For Fashion

Luxury, Desire and Suffering. 1800 – present day

Please note: As of 04.06.22 masks are no longer mandatory in indoor areas. We still recommend wearing an appropriate mask indoors.


Sleek furs, exotic feathers, iridescent pearls – the splendour and beauty of the animal kingdom has fascinated humans and aroused desires since time immemorial. The rarer a fur or pearl was the greater the desire to adorn oneself with it. In order to do this animals all over the world were hunted killed and exterminated, their skins, carapace, teeth being lucrative commodities for clothing and fashion. They fulfilled the desire of men and women for luxury and distinction, exemplified eroticism, promised an entire industry good business.


Animal is the Trend

Has nothing changed? Have the anti-fur campaigns not achieved anything? A glance in any pedestrian area shows: Animal materials shape fashion trends – they are “in” once more. Luxury items made of fur, for a long time frowned upon, have become main-stream once more. The production figures speak for themselves: A estimated 90 million animals lose their life annually for fur fashion.


Ethics and Epidemic

Our behaviour towards animals is being put to the test – not only because of overexploitation of nature and ethical questions: What is permitted for humans? The Corona pandemic also makes it clear that change is needed. The virus probably reached us through to close a contact between wild animals and people and fur farms have also contributed to its spread.


The Exhibition

All imaginable types of animals have always been used in fashion with a great deal of phantasy and craftsmanship. Fascinatingly beautiful garments which protect, warm and adorn people. However no animal voluntarily sacrifices its skin, its feathers or its shell. The death of the animal is the downside of this luxury consumption. The exhibition “Raids for Fashion” being staged at the LVR-Industriemuseum in the Textilfabrik Cromford (Textile Mill) focusses on this particular section of the cultural history of fashion spanning over 200 years and brings to life the immediate confrontation between man and animals. Over an area of more than 500 m2, 250 items from the museum‘s own textile collection are exhibited in addition to photographs and films. Interactive stations and educational options enable visitors, especially families and school classes to explore the topic in play.


Photographic Exhibition “Natura Morta”

To complete the exhibition, photographs by the Berlin-based artist Oliver Mark from his series “Natura Morta” are on show in the Cromford mansion. This depicts a large number of preserved animals as well as garments and accessories made of animal materials. These illegally traded items smuggled into Germany were seized by the customs authorities and have since been stored in the evidence vault of the Bundesamt für Naturschutz (Federal Office for the Protection of Nature) in Bonn. This photographic exhibition is the counter-pole to the exhibition “Raids for Fashion” in the “Hohe Fabrik” (High Mill) which it supplements.

A catalogue is being published to accompany the exhibition


Tickets

Tickets for the exhibition can be obtained in advance from our Webshop.Please remember to print out your ticket or bring it with you on your mobile phone if you have booked online. Please also print out and complete the contact form attached to the online ticket and bring it with you to the museum.


Exhibiton period:
11.07.2021 - 26.06.2022

Opening hours:
Tuesday - Friday 10-17.00 hours, Saturday and Sunday 11-18 hours

Entrance fee:
Entrance from 01.07.2021: 6 €, reduced 4,50 €, combi-ticket including permanent exhibition 9 €

Guided tours in foreign languages (English):
65 €

The exhibition is accessible.
Information on accessibiliy at Textilfabrik Cromford (Textile Mill)

Visitor information:
kulturinfo rheinland
Tel: 02234 9921555
(Mon-Fri 8-18.00 hours; Sat, Sun and Public Holidays 10-15.00 hours)
Fax: 02234 9921300
Email:

Exhibition Site:
LVR-Industriemuseum
Textilfabrik Cromford

Cromforder Allee 24
40878 Ratingen

Logo LVR - Qualität für Menschen
Ein Ilustriertes Kopfbild der Textilfabrik Cromford

Modische Raubzüge

Luxus, Lust und Leid. 1800 - heute

Vier schrille, bunte Mäntel, die typisch für die achtziger Jahre sind: Das Cape auf der linken Seite ist ein Entwurf von Christian Dior.

Geschmeidige Felle, exotische Federn, schillernde Perlen – die Pracht und Schönheit der Tierwelt hat Menschen seit jeher fasziniert und Sehnsüchte geweckt. Je seltener ein Pelz oder eine Perle, umso mehr wurden sie begehrt, um sich selbst damit zu schmücken. Dafür wurden Tiere in aller Welt gejagt, getötet, ausgerottet, ihre Häute, Panzer, Zähne zu lukrativer Handelsware für Kleidung und Mode. Sie erfüllten Frauen und Männern den Wunsch nach Luxus und nach Distinktion, dienten der Erotik, versprachen einer ganzen Industrie gute Geschäfte.

Naher Zoom auf das Fell von drei braunen Pelzmänteln.

Tier im Trend

Hat sich daran gar nichts geändert? Haben die Anti-Pelz-Kampagnen nichts bewirkt? Ein Blick in jede x-beliebige Fußgängerzone zeigt: Tierische Materialien prägen modische Trends – Sie sind wieder in. Die lange Zeit verpönten Luxusprodukte aus Pelz sind erneut zum Mainstream geworden. Die Produktionszahlen sprechen für sich: Geschätzt 90 Millionen Tiere müssen jährlich für die Pelzmode ihr Leben lassen.

Pompöser Federhut mit schwarzen und orange-braunen Vögeln. Die Vögel sind als vollständige Tiere zu erkennen.

Ethik und Epidemie

Unser Verhältnis zu den Tieren steht auf dem Prüfstand – nicht nur wegen unseres ungehemmten Raubbaus an der Natur und der ethischen Frage: Was darf der Mensch? Auch die Corona-Pandemie macht deutlich, dass es eine Veränderung braucht. Denn das Virus ist vermutlich durch zu engen Kontakt zwischen Wildtieren und Menschen zu uns gelangt und auch Pelzfarmen haben seine Verbreitung begünstigt.

Drei Handtaschen aus echtem Schlangenleder der 1930er – 80er Jahre, die versetzt nebeneinander stehen.

Die Ausstellung

Mit großer Fantasie und kunsthandwerklicher Meisterschaft wurden alle denkbaren Tierarten schon immer für die Mode genutzt. Faszinierend schöne Kleidungsstücke, die Menschen schützten, wärmten oder schmückten. Aber kein Tier gibt freiwillig sein Fell, seine Federn oder sein Gehäuse her. Der Tod der Tiere ist die Kehrseite dieses Luxuskonsums. Die Ausstellung „Modische Raubzüge“ des LVR-Industriemuseums zeigt in der Textilfabrik Cromford diesen besonderen Ausschnitt der Kulturgeschichte der Mode der vergangenen 250 Jahre und macht die unmittelbare Konfrontation von Mensch und Tier erlebbar. Zu sehen sind auf mehr als 500 m² über 250 Objekte aus der museumseigenen Textilsammlung, dazu Bilder und Filme. Interaktive Stationen und museumspädagogische Angebote ermöglichen es den Gästen, besonders auch Familien und Schulklassen, sich die Inhalte spielerisch zu erschließen.

Fotoausstellung „Natura Morta“

Ergänzt wird die Ausstellung durch eine Präsentation von Bildern des Berliner Künstlers Oliver Mark aus der Serie „Natura Morta“ im Herrenhaus Cromford. Sie zeigen Fotoarbeiten über eine Vielzahl von Tierpräparaten, aus tierischen Materialen gefertigte Kleidungsstücke sowie Accessoires. Diese illegal gehandelten und nach Deutschland geschmuggelten Objekte wurden vom Zoll beschlagnahmt und sind seitdem in der Asservatenkammer des Bundesamts für Naturschutz in Bonn gelagert. Die Ausstellung bildet einen Gegenpol und eine Ergänzung zur Ausstellung „Modische Raubzüge“ in der Hohen Fabrik.

Zur Ausstellung erscheint ein Katalog.


Rahmenprogramm

Veranstaltungstermine werden noch bekannt gegeben.


Tickets

Tickets für die Ausstellung erhalten Sie vorab in unserem Webshop. Bitte denken Sie daran, Ihr Ticket ausgedruckt oder auf dem Handy mitzubringen, wenn Sie es online gebucht haben. Bringen Sie bitte auch das an das Online-Ticket angehängte Kontaktformular ausgefüllt und ausgedruckt mit ins Museum.


Laufzeit:
11.07.2021 - 26.06.2022

Öffnungszeiten:
Dienstag - Freitag 10-17 Uhr, Samstag und Sonntag 11-18 Uhr

Eintritt:
Eintritt ab 01.07.2021: 5,50 €, erm. 4 €, Kombiticket mit Dauerausstellung 8 €

Führungen:
Informationen folgen!

Die Ausstellung ist barrierefrei zugänglich.
Informationen zur Barrierefreiheit in der Textilfabrik Cromford

Besucherinfos:
kulturinfo rheinland
Tel: 02234 9921555
(Mo-Fr 8-18 Uhr; Sa, So u. an Feiertagen 10-15 Uhr)
Fax: 02234 9921300
Mail:

Ausstellungsort:
LVR-Industriemuseum
Textilfabrik Cromford
Cromforder Allee 24
40878 Ratingen