Grafik Industrieanlage

Adults

Storage of various historical paintings and pictures

The Peter-Behrens-Bau (Repository and Exhibition Building) is the ideal destination for company or association excursions or tours with friends and relatives. We would be happy to put together an individual programme for you. All guided tours can also be booked in English, French and Dutch for a small extra charge if early notice is given.


An AEG clock and logo on a red wall in an exhibition

1. Peter Behrens – Kunst & Technik (Art & Technology)

The guided tour around the permanent exhibition “Peter Behrens - Kunst und Technik” (Art and Technology)illustrates the accomplishments of Peter Behrens, a pioneer of modern architecture and design, with architectural models, photographs, building plans and design items. The range of exhibits extends from Art Nouveau to Bauhaus modernity.

Duration: approx. 60 Minutes

Price: 55 € per Group plus entrance fee

Due to the fire safety regulations only a maximum of 23 persons may visit the fifth floor of the Peter-Behrens-Bau at any one time.

To book


Various exhibits such as fans or heaters in the museum depot

2. Guided tour through the collection: Formerly central warehouse of GHH, today museum repository

The architect and industrial designer Peter Behrens designed the building in 1920 as the main storage warehouse for the Gutehoffnungshütte (GHH) based in Oberhausen. Today it bears the name “Peter-Behrens-Bau” and it has been used as the central collection repository of the LVR-Industriemuseum since 1998. More than 300,000 collection items are stored here representing predominantly the textile, metal, paper, plastics and power generation sectors. This special guided tour visits the collection repository.

Duration: approx. 60 Minutes

Price: 55 € per group plus entrance fee

To book

Forging process

3. Forging Workshop for Adults

In the museum’s outdoor forge, participants familiarise themselves with the basic forging techniques and with expert instruction forge individual items to their own designs. From letter-openers to simple plant climbing frames, a great deal is possible according to interest and skill.

This option can be booked at any time for groups (3-6 participants); specific dates are offered for individuals.

Sturdy shoes, long trousers and a long-sleeved top are required as work clothes.

Max. 6 Participants

Duration: approx. 5 hours

Price: 100 € per person (including material)

To book

The program cannot currently take place due to Corona.


Museum educator shows children how to make paper

1. Childhood in Alte Dombach around 1850

The paper maker’s children, Gertrud and Johann Berg, lived and worked in the paper mill. During a guided tour around the museum girls and boys learn how they lived and what work they had to perform in the paper mill.

Age: 4 - 11 years / Kindergarten – 3rd class

Duration: approx. 1 hour (plus paper-making time)

Price: 40 € per group

We recommend that two guided tours be booked for groups with more than 20 participants and the group be split up accordingly.

To book

Logo LVR - Qualität für Menschen
Grafik Industrieanlage

Erwachsene

Lagerung verschiedener historischer Gemälde und Bildern

Der Peter-Behrens-Bau ist das ideale Ziel für Firmen- und Vereinsausflüge oder Touren mit Freunden und Verwandten. Gerne stellen wir Ihnen dafür auch ein individuelles Programm zusammen. Alle Führungen können bei frühzeitiger Anfrage und gegen einen kleinen Aufpreis auch in englischer, französischer und niederländischer Sprache gebucht werden.


Eine Uhr und ein Logo von AEG an einer roten Wand in einer Ausstellung

1. Peter Behrens – Kunst & Technik

Die Führung durch die Dauerausstellung Peter Behrens - Kunst und Technik veranschaulicht anhand von Architekturmodellen, Fotos, Bauplänen und Designobjekten das Werk von Peter Behrens, einem der Pioniere moderner Architektur und Gestaltung. Die Bandbreite der Exponate reicht vom Jugendstil bis zur Bauhaus-Moderne.

Dauer: ca. 60 Minuten

Preis: 55 € pro Gruppe zzgl. Eintritt

Aufgrund der Brandschutzvorgaben darf das fünfte Obergeschoss des Peter-Behrens-Bau nur von max. 23 Personen zur gleichen Zeit besichtigt werden.

Anmeldung

Verschiedene Exponate wie Ventilatoren oder Heizungen des Museumsdepot

2. Führung durch die Sammlung: Früher Zentrallager der GHH, heute Museumsdepot

Der Architekt und Industriedesigner Peter Behrens entwarf das Gebäude 1920 als Hauptlagerhaus für die Oberhausener Gutehoffnungshütte (GHH). Seit 1998 wird es unter dem Namen Peter-Behrens-Bau vom LVR-Industriemuseum als zentrales Sammlungsdepot genutzt. Hier lagern über 300.000 Sammlungsstücke, die schwerpunktmäßig die Industriezweige Textil, Metall, Papier, Kunststoff und Elektrizität repräsentieren. In dieser speziellen Führung kann das Sammlungsdepot besichtigt werden.

Dauer: ca. 60 Minuten

Preis: 55 € pro Gruppe zzgl. Eintritt

Anmeldung

Schmiedevorgang

3. Schmiedeworkshop für Erwachsene [ab Ende Mai]

In der Freiluft-Schmiede des Museums lernen die Teilnehmenden die Grundtechniken des Schmiedens kennen und erstellen unter fachkundiger Anleitung ein selbstgeschmiedetes Einzelstück nach eigenen Entwürfen. Vom Brieföffner bis zur einfachen Rankstange, je nach Interesse und Geschick ist vieles möglich.

Für Gruppen (3-6 Teilnehmende) ist dieses Angebot frei zu buchen, für Einzelpersonen werden feste Termine angeboten.

Als Arbeitskleidung sind feste Schuhe, lange Hosen und langärmelige Oberteile erforderlich.

Max. 6 Teilnehmende

Dauer: ca. 5 Std.

Preis: 100 € pro Person (inkl. Material)

Anmeldung