Grafik Gesenkschmiede Hendrichs

Wipperkotten

View of the water-powered drive

As early as the Middle Ages, the abundance of water in the Bergisches Land made it possible to set up numerous numerous grinding workshops along the many watercourses. In these workshops, the heavy grindstones and the wooden wheels for fine grinding were driven by a water wheel.

In the last remaining original Solingen grinding cottage “Wipperkotten” the outworkers still work with water power. It is idyllically situated at the spot where the “Weinsberger Bach” (stream) – popularly known as the “Wipper” – runs into the Wupper river.

Look at the grindstones

Whilst the part of the imposing double workshop complex on the Wupper side is in private hands, the Wipperkotten grinding workshop is run by an Association of Friends in close co-operation with the LVR-Industriemuseum. Not only the drive axles and transmission wheels of the water powered system, but also documentation about the past history of the workshop and the grinder’s craft can be found on the ground floor.

Address: Förderverein Wipperkotten e.V., Wipperkotten 2, 42699 Solingen

Opening hours: upon prior booking from monday to Friday only, additionally every first and third sunday in the month from 14–16 hours from April to October.

Entrance: 1 €

Guided tour: 25 €

To book: Groups with more than five persons should book in advance through Schleiferei Wipperkotten, Tel. 0212 6457166

Further information under www.schleiferei-wipperkotten.de

Logo LVR - Qualität für Menschen
Grafik Gesenkschmiede Hendrichs

Wipperkotten

Blick auf den wasserbetriebenen Antrieb

Der Wasserreichtum des Bergischen Landes machte es möglich, schon im Mittelalter an den vielen Wasserläufen zahlreiche Schleifkotten zu errichten. In ihnen wurden die schweren Schleifsteine und die hölzernen Pließtscheiben für den Feinschliff von einem Wasserrad angetrieben.

Im letzten original erhaltenen Solinger Schleifkotten, dem "Wipperkotten", arbeiten noch heute Solinger Heimarbeiter mit Wasserkraft. Idyllisch liegt er an der Mündung des Weinsberger Bachs - im Volksmund "Wipper" – in die Wupper.

Blick auf die Schleifsteine

Während der wupperseitige Teil der imposanten Doppelkottenanlage in privater Hand ist, wird die Schleiferei Wipperkotten durch einen eigenen Förderverein in enger Zusammenarbeit mit dem LVR-Industriemuseum Solingen betrieben. Im Erdgeschoss finden Sie nicht nur Antriebsachsen und Transmissionsräder der Wasserkraftanlage, sondern auch eine Dokumentation zur Vergangenheit des Kottens und zur Geschichte des Schleiferberufs.

Anschrift: Förderverein Wipperkotten e.V., Wipperkotten 2, 42699 Solingen

Öffnungszeiten: Nach Voranmeldung von Montag bis Freitag, Von April bis Oktober jeden 1. und 3. Sonntag im Monat von 14 bis 16 Uhr.

Gruppen bis 15 Personen nur nach Anmeldung

Eintritt: 1 €, Führung 25 €

Anmeldung/Kontakt: Tel.: 0212 247 39 58 (AB)

Weitere Infos auf www.schleiferei-wipperkotten.de