Grafik Gesenkschmiede Hendrichs

Washhouse Weegerhof

Washboard in a zinc pan

The Solingen-based Baugenossenschaft Spar- und Bauverein Solingen (SBV) (Housing Cooperative and Savings and Building Association) did not include laundry rooms and drying lofts when the 185 houses in the Weegerhof settlement were constructed. Instead, a communal laundry facility was built, which was at the time extremely modern and socially exemplary. The washhouse made the work much easier. Until the end of the 1960s, doing the laundry was a physically arduous process for many housewives, frequently taking several days. In the washhouse, however, the machines shortened the washing process to just a few hours.

Many of those employed in the cutlery industry – mostly workers or lower grade employees – lived in Weegerhof with their families. They themselves would not have been able to afford the luxury of a machine to do the laundry without the washhouse. The frequently very soiled work clothes of the homeworkers and factory workers could be cleaned much more easily in the wash house than arduously by hand.


The washhouse Weegerhof was in use until 2005 and is probably the only facility in Germany with intact original fittings is a listed site. The fixtures with the large, old washing machines, the voluminous spin-dryer, the pull-out cupboards filled with steam spirals to dry the laundry or the mighty steam mangles are preserved more or less unchanged.

The museum exhibition complements the listed fixtures of the washhouse with numerous items relating to the history of laundry.

Address: Waschhaus Weegerhof, Hermann-Meyer-Straße 28a, 42657 Solingen

Access to the Wash house from Hermann-Meyer-Straße, between houses nos. 30/28 and 26 or Ernst-Moritz-Arndt-Weg.

Opening hours: every first sunday in the month from 11–13 hours from February to November only.

Entrance fee: 2 €

To book: Groups with more than five persons should book in advance through Waschhaus Weegerhof, Frau Klinkner, Tel.: 0212 815201

Logo LVR - Qualität für Menschen
Grafik Gesenkschmiede Hendrichs

Waschhaus Weegerhof

Waschbrett in einer Zinkwanne

Die Solinger Baugenossenschaft Spar- und Bauverein Solingen (SBV) hatte beim Bau der 185 Wohnhäuser der Siedlung Weegerhof auf Waschküchen und Trockenspeicher verzichtet und stattdessen mit der zentralen Wäscherei eine damals hochmoderne, sozial vorbildliche Gemeinschaftseinrichtung errichtet. Das Waschhaus erleichterte die Arbeit enorm. Für viele Hausfrauen war das Waschen bis weit in die 1960er Jahre eine körperlich sehr anstrengende und oft mehrere Tage dauernde Prozedur. Im Waschhaus dagegen verkürzten Maschinen den Waschvorgang auf wenige Stunden.
Im Weegerhof wohnten viele Beschäftige der Schneidwarenindustrie, Arbeiter oder kleine Angestellte mit ihren Familien, die sich ohne das Waschhaus den Komfort einer maschinellen Waschtechnik nicht hätten leisten können. Auch die oft stark verschmutzte Arbeitskleidung der Heim- oder Fabrikarbeiter ließ sich im Waschhaus erheblich leichter reinigen als mühsam per Hand.


Wäsche auf Wäscheleine

Heute steht das noch bis 2005 genutzte Waschhaus als wohl einzige Anlage in Deutschland mit erhaltener Originalausstattung unter Denkmalschutz. Das Inventar mit den großen, alten Waschmaschinen, den voluminösen Schleudern, den von Dampfspiralen durchzogenen Kulissenschränken zum Trocknen der Wäsche oder den mächtigen Dampfmangeln blieb nahezu unverändert erhalten.

Die Museumsausstellung ergänzt die denkmalgeschützte Einrichtung des Waschhauses mit zahlreichen Objekten zur Geschichte des Waschens.

Anschrift: Hermann-Meyer-Straße , 42657 Solingen

Zugang zum Waschhaus über die Hermann-Meyer-Straße, zwischen den Häusern Nr. 30/28 und 26

Öffnungszeiten: Das Waschhaus ist von Februar bis November jeden 1. Sonntag im Monat von 11 bis 13 Uhr geöffnet.

Eintritt: 2 €

Anmeldung/Kontakt: Waschhaus Weegerhof, Frau Klinkner, Tel.: 0212 815 201